Digital Media Project: Take Two

Here are my newest thoughts on my digital media project for EC&I 831.  While Sue Waters talked to our class about blogging, she mentioned teaching kids about their digital footprint. I asked myself:

  • How many kids (ages 6-9)  know what a digital footprint is?
  • How many kids are being taught about their digital footprint?
  • What resources are out there that teach kids about their digital footprints?

I thought that I would like to make a video for this age level to explain what a digital footprint was.   As I was exploring, I discovered a website called http://www.commonsensemedia.org/.  They have some great resources and videos for children including what is a digital footprint.  I don’t want to redo what has already been done so I have been thinking about what is missing.

I know when I start teaching a concept I often read a story.  I looked up books on the topic and didn’t find much for the age group that I am focusing on.   One of my favourite series that creates fabulous classroom discussions in my class is called “The Best Me I Can  Be”series.  They are short and simple stories about different traits such as being responsible and honesty.  I use these books in my classroom and we also have them in the school library.  They are short and simple and most kids read them independently.

Maybe I need to write some short stories related to technology.

Maybe these short stories will assist teachers in the classroom and maybe even teach them something.  If a teacher is not comfortable using technology, they most likely won’t find online videos to show the class.

Maybe kids will learn something that they didn’t know from these short stories.  Many kids hear some of the terms used around computers but may not have grasped the actual concepts.

I have decided to write and illustrate some short stories based on technology related topics for primary children.  I will take pictures of the illustrations and put them into some sort of video/slideshow.  I have looked into publishing these stories through Scholastic but first I need to write them.  I am not sure if I will complete the entire series by the time this course ends.  My goal is to have at least 2 books completed.  Some of the topics are:

1. What is a digital footprint?

2. What is blogging?

3. What is Twitter?

4. What is cyberbullying?

5.  Do’s and Don’ts on the Internet.

6.  Computer Time (staying active while still having computer time)

I need your help!  What are some more topics I could write about?  Remember this is for grades 1-4 (ages 6-9) .  How should I make my slideshow video?

6 thoughts on “Digital Media Project: Take Two

  1. What a great idea Shannon! I am generally not a “creator” of knowledge – I research, find, credit, and show! I think those are all great topics to begin with. I know my 8 year-old nephew and I were just talking last week about when it would be okay for him to get his own email account. The choice was taken out of his hands (most sites don’t let you sign up until you’re 13), but maybe that’s a good thing for now. Generally, I just worry about safety on the Internet and being careful of what you look at and who you talk to. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Good luck!

    • Thanks Lindsay! I am always concerned about safety on the Internet. Many of my students go on the computer and do things that they may not realize is unsafe. I am hoping that my Do’s and Don’ts on the Internet one will cover this. I don’t want to start the book off nagging because they may lose interest. That’s why I wanted to start with things they could do. Email would also be a topic to write about. Thanks for your reply!

  2. Pingback: Digital Media Project: What Is Blogging? | Shannon Sanchuck

Leave a Reply

