Digital Media Project: What Is Blogging?

blog

I have started working on my digital media project (writing books about technology for 6-9 year olds) and wow is it tough!   I am trying to break down the concept of blogging. There are so many terms surrounding blogging that may not be familiar to children such as website and Internet.  I am approaching the topic as if the reader has little to no background knowledge on the subject.  I am thankful that I have a 7 and 9 year old at home to help me with this project.  I thought that I would be able to complete the content of the books and the illustrations would take more time.  I had no idea that the actual writing part would be as difficult and time consuming as it is.  I want short and simple text but I want it to explain a big concept   As I am writing, I am thinking about English as an additional language learners and I think that these books could benefit some of these students as well.

 Questions

Is there a way to illustrate books online?

What types of examples of blogs should I include?  So far I was thinking about cooking blogs, travel blogs, and blogs used by schools/classrooms.

artsy-writer-working

5 thoughts on “Digital Media Project: What Is Blogging?

  1. I don’t know if this is any help with your questions, but have you ever seen the Common Craft videos? Just Google – Common Craft and they provide simplistic explanations about a number of things including blogging. Check it out and see if it helps. It’s a beginning at least.

Leave a Reply

