Small Accomplishments!

Over the past few weeks I have accomplished a few small things that I am proud of and I thought I would share them with you.

1. I have added categories to my blog!  I don’t know why I haven’t taken the time to do this before.  It was pretty simple to figure out and I feel so much better now that it is done!

pic_for_cat

2. I participated in a Twitter chat. It was #cdnedchat and the topic was Professional Learning Networks.   I thought that it would be harder to keep up but it wasn’t as overwhelming as I thought.  There were lots of friendly people with great ideas.  The questions they asked were:

  • How do you build and use your PLN (outside of Twitter)?
  • How has your PLN improved your teaching?
  • What proportion of your professional development is online?
  • Have online PLNs replaced traditional PD?
  • For those new to PLNs, which educators/educationalists would recommend they follow on twitter?

I tried to find the archive but I couldn’t find it.  The link to the page is http://www.cdnedchat.com/welcome.  If you haven’t participated in a chat you should try it!

3. It seems that the more I tweet the more followers I get.  There have been a few times where the number of my tweets has matched my followers.  Right now I have more followers than tweets but by the end of this class I want to have more tweets than followers! I know this isn’t an accomplishment but it’s neat for me to see!  The number of people I follow has also increased.  It is interesting for me to be reading something and come across a name and decide to look them up on Twitter only to realize that I already follow them already.  Building my PLN on Twitter has been one of my favourite things about EC&1 831!

photo(1)    photo(2)    photo(3)   photo(4)

Right now I am working on creating an Aurasma.  I  decided to download the app and play before reading the instructions which is always fun and frustrating at the same time!  I have also ordered a MaKey Makey and I can’t wait to get that so I can try to figure it out!  My daughter is also teaching me how to play Minecraft.  I even have my own world. I will post about these experiences later.

What small things have you accomplished during this class?

4 thoughts on “Small Accomplishments!

  1. Hi Shannon, your post re-inspired me to play around with the categories. Interestingly enough, when I first set up my blog I had created one category but never did anything with it. I then realized that I had created all these pages about final project and their titles where bombarding my pages menu. Because of you, I figured out how to create sub-pages. Thank you for sharing!!!

  2. Shannon, I also ordered two Makey Makey’s and was excited when they showed up int he mail on Friday! I have also played around with Aurasma at school. Good luck with the rest of your journey!

  3. I have found Twitter to be the area that I have spent the most time learning. I have participated/watched?? an #edchat and #cpchat and found them both great at expanding my PLN. I have also created a twitter account for my job as a career counsellor.

Leave a Reply

